Comfort in Christ

This is one of my all time favorite paintings. It is titled “I Will Not Fail Thee.” It is by Derek Hegsted, and it speaks to my heart. My heart could use a healing balm right now, and looking at this picture always brings me peace.

So often, we try to find happiness in things of the world only to find that it is all a superficial facade. Without the healing power of the Atonement, we are nothing. Without the love and comfort Christ offers, there is no true peace. I love the words to “How Firm a Foundation”, but these two verses in particular offer me great comfort.

“Fear not, I am with thee; O be not dismayed!
For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

“The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose,
I will not, I will not desert to its foes;
that soul, though all hell shall endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no, never, no, never forsake.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Religion

Leave a Reply

