Running on fumes

exhaustedNo, this blog has not been abandoned…it just appears that way.  Often when I tell myself that I will blog that evening, I fall into bed instead with my eyes closed before my head even hits the pillow. I used to laugh at Jeff when he could fall asleep anytime, anywhere; until I fell asleep last week while reading to Micheline…at 4 in the afternoon. Didn’t think it was possible to fall asleep mid-sentence while reading aloud, but it really is. When your child says, “Mooom, you’re not saying anything and you’re supposed to be reading to me”, it’s time to be getting more sleep at night.

Problem is, Ben’s bipolar disorder likes to make him feel rarin to go in the middle of the night when the rest of us would prefer some shut-eye.  There’s nothing that can disturb your sleep like having a child wander the house at 3 a.m., trying to see what he can get into. That and tending to the special needs of other children during the middle of the night lead me to feeling like a snake each day that appears to have its eyes open, but the inner eyelid is already shut!

I have some great photos of Micheline’s birthday, her baptism, locking her hair, and other posts I need to write, but they are currently on hold until the frenzy of the holidays is finished. There are some things that can wait until after Christmas day, and those posts are going to just have to be one of them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Parenting

Leave a Reply

