Happy New Year!

Although it is the story of my life to be behind in blogging, I wanted to add this post tonight. Alyssa headed off to a New Year’s dance for youth at the church and wanted to buy a formal dress for the occasion. Here are some pictures of her before she headed out the door. Doesn’t she look gorgeous?
new-years-eve-dress

close-up
Once you hit my age, ringing in the New Year doesn’t seem so exciting. I have kids right now watching a very touching DVD on the life of Emma Smith, trying to stay up one more hour so they can say Happy New Year. I hope we don’t pay for it tomorrow as getting the sleep schedule “off” for a bipolar child is not usually a wise idea.new-years-eve-2008

watching-movie-on-new-years-eve
Jeff is supposedly watching the movie as well, but is soundly sleeping on the sofa. Whenever this happens if I wake him, he claims not to be sleeping, but merely “checking his eyelids for cracks.” I don’t think he would appreciate me adding a photo of him snoozing on the couch.

Less than an hour and I can put kids to bed after shooting off a couple of illegal firecrackers out in the cul-de-sac that we have saved from Independence day. Then it will be off to pick up Alyssa about 12:45 and I can finally hit the hay myself. Happy New Year to all of you and may you have a blessed and prosperous 2009.

1 Comment

Filed under celebrations, Holidays, Parenting

One response to “Happy New Year!

  1. She looked positively beautiful, and I hope she had a great time at the ball!

    …and I hope you got to sleep in until a decent hour this morning, after being up so late with the kids.

    Love,
    Kimberly

Leave a Reply

