Spa Day

massageTomorrow is a day I have been looking forward to for a long time.  My dear friend who lives in Michigan is flying out here with her husband for a few days while he attends a conference for work. She is treating me to 3 1/2 hours at a day spa. Oh yeah!

I’ve had massages. As a matter of fact, I’ve had plenty of them. When I worked as a sign language  interpreter full time, I got a massage every two weeks as that is what kept my arms and back muscles going.  However, every time I had a massage, I used to lie there on the table when they were done, wishing that the hour had not ended.

Tomorrow my wish will come true, because I get to relax for much longer than an hour. We will have a mud wrap, an aromatherapy massage, a facial with a bright eyes cooling treatment and a foot massage. What more could any mother ask for? No wonder the package is titled Pure Relaxation.

I must admit the mud wrap will be interesting as it is supposed to be warm and relaxing. What I want to know is what do you do when you are all cocooned in mud and have a hot flash? Does the idea of warm and relaxing go right out the window?

A facial also sounds incredibly wonderful, but you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear. My friend said she had a facial once at a spa and it was absolutely wonderful. When they finished, she said there was not a wrinkle to be found…the effect lasted for all of 9 minutes.  Perhaps I should bring a camera and document the effect immediately after the facial, before gravity has a chance to take over once again. We’ll have film at 11.

Jeff has threatened to put an ankle bracelet on me; the kind parolees have, to make sure that I return home afterward.  If this is the last post you ever read on this blog, you will know it is because I never returned.  🙂

1 Comment

Filed under down time

One response to “Spa Day

  1. So how was spa day? I’m a little behind on my reading, so it’s already over.

    I really just want reassurance that you came back. And to tell you how jealous I am!!!

    Hope you enjoyed it, you sure do deserve some pampering.

    Love,
    K

Leave a Reply

