Catholic school drop-out

Well, I am sad to say that Peanut only lasted a day and a half in Catholic school. Not surprising since she is only 4 years old and her cousin put her in kindergarten. I can’t imagine going from a special needs preschool for children with language delays to a kindergarten classroom in the middle of their school year. I mean, these kids are starting to read and write and she struggles to even write her name. Have no idea what her cousin was thinking, but I feel like Peanut was set up to fail before she ever walked into the classroom.

When Peanut doesn’t like the way things are going, she lets others know. This time she did it by biting her teacher. I know, not funny, but I have to confess I chuckled when I heard the news. She used to bite my other kids quite regularly when she first came to our home so I know biting is often her M.O. for saying “I don’t like this”, or “I am quite ticked off at the moment.” She hasn’t bitten in our home for quite a long time, however, so I know she must have been feeling very overwhelmed.

1 Comment

Filed under Adoption, Foster Care

One response to “Catholic school drop-out

  1. I just thought I’d leave a little note saying thanks for writing. I just read December and January after a friend gave me a link to the story about building cathedrals… but then I was intrigued by your story (and header picture) since my husband and I have prayed about eventually doing foster care and if possible, adoption. My heart aches for little Peanut and for your family as you continue to adjust. Just, thanks for the real-life glimpse into your life.

Leave a Reply

